Paranoia

Writing Prompt 30 day challenge found at http://30daychallengearchive.tumblr.com/

***

Day #26 (I skipped a day again…)

***

“Write about your worst habit.”

***

I had to think for a few minutes about what my worst habit is, but I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s my paranoia. I don’t think I have any  extreme paranoia that will evolve into something horrible, I have a pretty good handle on it, but the paranoia is still there. Paranoia that I’m being cheated on, not that I’ve had too many boyfriends… paranoia that people are saying negative things about me behind my back, or making jokes at my expense.

I also have a huge fear of spiders. Every night before I go to bed I do a huge search on my room making sure that there aren’t any spiders. Generally the search is enough and I’m able to lay in bed comfortably without needing to get back up, but every now and then my paranoia will get the better of me and I’ll feel like there are spiders on my ceiling, which will cause me to get out of bed, turn on the light, and check the room again. There are even rarer nights when I’ll repeat that action several times for half an hour until I’m finally satisfied that there are, in fact, no spiders in my room.

5 comments on “Paranoia

  1. run4joy59 says:

    hmm..I don’t think I’m terribly paranoid, except when it comes to the corporation i work for spying on our online postings (and I don’t even mean posting from work)…I think that’s a pretty commom situation these days…my cat kind of warns me about any spiders she happens to see…she gets this little whimpery thing going and just stares at the spider, wherever it may be…at least she’s good for something!

    • Simplicality says:

      My cats like to notify me of spiders too! Though not all the time… lol And yeah every once and a while, while I’m on the computer, I wonder if the government is spying on me. That’s not something I’m really paranoid about but the thought does cross my mind occasionally so I know where you’re coming from. Thanks for the comment btw 😀

  2. Michelle says:

    Paranoia-five! I’m as paranoid as you are. 🙂 I understand the fear of spiders part. While my fear is something less rational (ghosts) I do the same thing you do; I spend the first half hour before going to bed looking around, checking the corners of my room for anything out of the ordinary. And while I’ve never seen anything supernatural with my own eyes before, I still do it, out of habit and paranoia.

    • Simplicality says:

      It’s nice to know that others have paranoid quirks just like I do. As for supernatural stuff, I always get paranoid over things like that after watching a scary movie that deals with spirits or after staying up late into the night and having heated discussions about aliens and the like with my friends.

Feel free to reply or critique. Just don't be too harsh please ^_^

